Facebook Pixel

News Center

Hilary Hoynes Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

From Dean Henry E. Brady

I am very pleased to announce that the American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced today that Professor Hilary Hoynes of the Goldman School has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The American Academy is one of the oldest and most prestigious honorary societies in America, and it is a leading center for independent policy research in the United States. Election to the Academy is considered one of the nation's highest honors since its founding during the American Revolution in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock, James Bowdoin, and other scholar-patriots who contributed prominently to the establishment of the new nation, its government, and its Constitution.

The citation for Professor Hoynes reads in part:

“Hoynes’ work on the social safety net (including food stamps, EITC, and welfare) explores their impacts on health, birth outcomes, marriage, living arrangements, cognitive outcomes, work, and overall well-being.   Her research provides a clear and dynamic picture of how these social programs affect poverty, health, and food security, especially during economic recessions, and it is distinguished by its focus on critical policy issues and methodological rigor.  Hoynes has published more than 50 articles in economics, and she has been a leader in thinking about social programs as long-run investments in children and families.”

In its press release the Academy listed Professor Hoynes among the important people who had been elected this year.  “People elected to the 2018 Class include author Ta-Nehisi Coates; actor Tom Hanks; Netflix, Inc. CEO W. Reed Hastings, Jr.; Librarian of Congress Carla D. Hayden; Lockheed Martin Corporation CEO Marillyn A. Hewson; historian Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham; computational linguist Julia B. Hirschberg; economist Hilary Hoynes; Buddhist scholar Matthew T. Kapstein; Indigenous studies scholar K. Tsianina Lomawaima; novelist Viet Thanh Nguyen; 44th President of the United States Barack H. Obama; NASA climatologist Claire L. Parkinson; physicist David J. Pine; philanthropist and entrepreneur Laurene Powell Jobs; Supreme Court Justice Sonia M. Sotomayor; sculptor and installation artist Jessica Stockholder; gene editing developer Feng Zhang; and pediatric neurologist Huda Y. Zoghbi.”

Professor Hoynes's election to the American Academy brings to six the number of GSPP faculty members who have been elected to the Academy.  The other members are Eugene Bardach, Robert Birgeneau, Henry Brady, Janet Napolitano, and Robert Reich.