Facebook Pixel

40th Anniversary


The Goldman School of Public Policy sent its first graduates into the world in 1970. At the time, it wasn’t just the School that was in its nascent stage; the discipline of public policy analysis was itself brand new, born from the then-novel idea that policy should be shaped by rigorous analysis. Four decades later, Goldman School alumni inhabit key leadership positions throughout local, state and federal government and the non-profit and private sector.

In March 2011, GSPP celebrated its 40th Anniversary with events focused on the accomplishments of alumni, faculty, and the School.The School convened two alumni panel discussions on March 18th:  “The Economy” panel [below]  brought together alumni experts to discuss the global financial crisis. Panelists included (from left) Elizabeth Hill (MPP ’75, Former Legislative Analyst, State of California), Chancellor's Professor Robert Reich, Mickey Levy (MPP ’74, Chief Economist, Bank of America) and Jesse Rothstein (MPP ’03, Associate Professor of Public Policy).

The “Energy and Environment” panelists discussed their extensive and varied experience tackling climate change problems, both domestically and internationally. Panelists were (from left) Reid Harvey (MPP ’86 Acting Director, US EPA, Climate Change Division), Ned Helme, (MPP ’77, Founder & President, Center for Clean Air Policy), Professor  Lee Friedman, Chuck Shulock (MPP ’78, Environmental and Climate Policy Consultant, Former Assist. Exec. Officer and Director of Climate Programs, California Air Resources Board) and Karl Hausker (MPP ‘81 / PhD ’86, Vice President, ICF Consulting).

The day’s events culminated with the School’s 40th Anniversary Alumni Dinner, where GSPP honored Ned Helme (MPP ’77) as the 2011 Alumnus of the Year and Carmen Chu (MPP ’03) as the 2011 Urban Leadership Award recipient.